Wild At Heart*

This whole world is wild at heart and weird on top.
 
It’s sometime in the afternoon and I’m sitting
on some steps on a sunny Sydney day.
I’m sitting on some steps on Oxford Street just
watching the world go by and
listening too.
The music thuds through me:
Mr Gay Sydney, Dikes on Mykes,
The Woman Beyond
and on and on
when I see her walking up to me smiling,
formal in a suit and so out of place but
smiling and she’s offering me a cigarette as I smile back
and she asks me when I was at Jabiluka,
asks if I need cash
and passes the time of day,
talks of her friend still at that protest, talks of uranium
and aborigines
all the while blowing clouds of blue smoke.

 
*Borrowed from the film Wild at Heart (1990) David Lynch. “This whole world is wild at heart and weird on top.” ‘Lula’ in Wild at Heart played by Laura Dern.

 
About this poem

 
© Ammie-oy 2010
 

Leave a Reply

