Last Leaving

When you leave you kiss me
every time,
because you miss me?
In case I don’t return…
 
My hands trail down the golden hairs,
want to hold you back, but snag—
on the left
on the cord
tied for luck, and I see you
in Varanasi
trying to buy back your soul, shadowed
by the burning Ghats.
 
Then one day you stopped returning
and I was left to burn your memories.

 

 
More about this poem
 
Varanasi is a Hindu holy city in India that lies along the banks of the River Ganga (Ganges) although the ‘string’ tied around the wrist for luck is a Buddhist practice. The ghats are the wide steps that descend to the river. Some are used for bathing, others for cremation.
 
© Ammie-oy 2010
 

Leave a Reply

